Christmas is coming... The Sounding Joy by Elizabeth Mitchell

The Sounding Joy by Elizabeth Mitchell

Elizabeth Mitchell & Friends – Peggy Seeger, Natalie Merchant, Dan Zanes, Aoife O’Donovan & more - explore the Ruth Crawford Seeger Christmas songbook on ‘The Sounding Joy’;
 Oct. 15 via Smithsonian Folkways

“Mitchell’s music has a purity and beauty that transcends the children’s genre.”
– Los Angeles Daily News

On Oct. 15th, GRAMMY-nominated recording artist Elizabeth Mitchell releases The Sounding Joy, an exploration of Christmas and solstice songs from the American folk tradition.  Drawn almost exclusively from the often overlooked but deeply influential songbook of revered composer and anthologist Ruth Crawford Seeger, these songs evoke an era before mass media and the commercialization of Christmas, when sacred song, dance, contemplation, and gathering were prized above all else during the holiday season. Mitchell’s fifth album for Smithsonian Folkways, The Sounding Joy features husband Daniel Littleton, daughter Storey, and special guests Peggy Seeger, Natalie Merchant, Amy Helm, Aoife O’Donovan, Gail Ann Dorsey, Larry Campbell, Dan Zanes, and John Sebastian, among many other family, friends, and neighbors. This gorgeously reverent 24-song collection attempts to save these traditional American holiday songs from an “unmarked grave,” as Merchant puts it in her essay included in the liner notes. The Sounding Joy is truly for listeners of all ages and is Smithsonian Folkways’ first holiday album in more than a decade.

The Sounding Joy Tracklist:
1. Oh, Mary and the Baby, Sweet Lamb
2. Mary Had a Baby
3. Rise Up, Shepherd, and Follow (feat. Mike Merenda)
4. January, February (Last Month of the Year) (feat. Amy Helm and Marco Benevento)
5. Joseph and Mary (The Cherry Tree Carol) (feat. Natalie Merchant)
6. Shine Like a Star in the Morning (feat. Simi Stone)
7. Joy to the World (feat. Jay Ungar)
8. Christmas Day in the Morning (feat. Peggy Seeger)
9. Mother’s Child (Child of God) (feat. Peggy Seeger)
10. Sing-a-Lamb (feat. Dan Zanes and Suzan Lori-Parks)
11. Great Big Stars
12. Baby Born Today (feat. The Silver Hollers - Amy Helm, Ruthy Ungar and Chris Wood, with Larry Campbell)
13. Ain’t That a-Rockin’ All Night
14. Cradle Hymn
15. Bright Morning Stars Are Rising
16. Sing Hallelu (feat. Elizabeth Clark-Jerez)
17. The First Noel
18. The Blessings of Mary (feat. Larry Campbell)
19. Oh, Watch the Stars (feat. Aoife O’Donovan)
20. Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming
21. Mary Was the Queen of Galilee (feat. Gail Ann Dorsey and Joan Osborne)
22. Silent Night
23. Singing in the Land (feat. Natalie Merchant, Happy Traum, and John Sebastian)
24. Children, Go Where I Send Thee (feat. Natalie Merchant, Amy Helm, Ruthy Ungar, Gail Ann Dorsey, Dan Zanes, Aoife O'Donovan, Simi Stone)

Learn more about Elizabeth Mitchell and friends at The Sounding Joy Album. Sneak a peek of The Sounding Joy by Elizabeth Mitchell.

My Thoughts

The Sounding Joy by Elizabeth Mitchell is a wonderful Christmas CD. I love folk music when sung with spiritual or holiday music.  I hope you will go listen to the samples. It is a lovely CD to add to your family holiday and tradition. It is for all ages! Merry Christmas!

Contest Time: We have two copies of The Sounding Joy by Elizabeth Mitchell to giveaway. The winner has to pay the shipping on the prize. (US only! It should be less than $4 for regular post delivery) Payment can be sent by Paypal. (see sidebar)

Please use the Rafflecopter to sign up for the contest. Thank you.

Winners:  Raffle having errors picking the winners. Please be patient! Thank you. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Please note that the winners are responsible for shipping cost.

Happy Holidays,
Disclaimer: Loving Heart Designs received free copies of The Sounding Joy by Elizabeth Mitchell. The content was provided by The Sounding Joy by Elizabeth Mitchell. Winner is responsible for shipping charges.

  Bookmark and Share


  1. Silent Night and Winter Wonderland are my faves, the kids love "Frosty the Snowman"

  2. Children, Go Where I Send Thee was one of my favorites from this CD. :)


Come again ... Have a great day!

Loving Heart Designs